Not Impressed With UCLA Clinical Trials

I don’t know if anyone is keeping up with me, but on a somewhat recent post, I talked about entering into a clinical trial from UCLA to try out a turmeric supplement.  The pill, which may have been placebo ended up making me very ill and cost me one week’s worth of work.  Now that I have had plenty of time to recover, I feel great again.  Needless to say, today I received a bill from UCLA for blood work.  I’m shocked, to say the least.  Now I have to try and figure out why this would be and deal with the stress of making sure I don’t have to pay.  Since the clinical trial was unpaid from the start, and cost me money in gas, time, and the addition of the pill making me very sick, this is just the icing on the cake.  I hate to complain, but wanted anyone out there who was considering a clinical trial at UCLA, to think twice!  I had been considering doing a yoga study for UCLA on RA but at this point, never mind.  This clinical trial was suppose to keep my anonymity, so it’s terribly shocking, really it is, that the billing department would even receive my information!  Thanks so much to everyone for your support!  ((HUGS))!-Sarah

4 Responses

  1. Hi Vanessa,
    thanks. It was a mistake, but a very odd one. It is in the consent that it should never be billed, so it’s odd that it happened. thanks for the advice!
    hugs,
    Sarah

  2. I work in Clinical Research. You should check the Informed Consent you had signed prior to enrolling in the clinical study. It would be unusual for any blood tests related to the research to be billed to you.

  3. Roland,
    Wow, that’s fantastic! Our stories are similar! Are you still treating yourself with supplements? I tried acupuncture for a while and felt it was helping but I couldn’t keep up with the costs even though it was so inexpensive. As well, it was a bit far of a drive. I may get back into it again sometime. I can tell that I need less supplements than I used to, (knock on wood). But I would love to get to a point where it’s real remission, or at least get to a point that I’m a bit more disciplined and can deal with mostly diet alone..working on it! Thanks so much for your input!
    thanks and hugs,
    Sarah

  4. Hi Sarah
    I am an L.Ac. here in Palms/Culver City. I was diagnosed in July of this year with Fibro/Migratory arthritis by a GP but didn’t have the money for a rheumatologist visit. I am pretty sure given all the sx I have/had that it is RA. I had elevated ESR and CRP but was seronegative. Anyway, I am pretty much sx free currently after treating myself with herbs and acupuncture and vitamins/western herbs, visualization,some diet changes etc.. I have some minor pain that I am dealing with but have no swelling or fatigue for the most part. Thanks for your blog (it’s one of the many I read) and if you want to email me with questions about herbs/acupuncture feel free. Thanks!

Comments are closed.

