Quercetin for Skin Issues

I discovered Quercetin, a flavonoid found in red wine by visiting the Sarcoidosis group in my support group, Daily Strength. I was convinced that I was actually suffering from Sarcoid Arthritis which isn’t diagnosed as easily and often mistaken for Rheumatoid Arthritis. Although I have come to the conclusion that I most likely do have Rheumatoid Arthritis and not Sarcoid Arthritis, I’m still glad to have learned about it. My skin issues at that time were hive like patches. Some of them itched like crazy and some of them didn’t. I also had a lump in each corner of my eye that was itchy and somewhat swollen and driving me batty. The people in the Sarcoidosis group told me that Quercetin was good for skin issues. I immediately started researching and found that it would only help me, so why not give it a shot?

“From in vitro studies, quercetin has demonstrated significant anti-inflammatory activity by inhibiting both manufacture and release of histamine and other allergic/inflammatory mediators.”-Wikipedia We often take drugs like benadryl to help us with allergies, but why not try a supplement instead?

Beyond helping with allergy and inflammation type issues, Quercetin has shown in some studies to be beneficial for cancers. “An 8-year study found that three flavonolskaempferol, quercetin, and myricetin — were associated with a reduced risk of pancreatic cancer of 23 percent”-Wikipedia

I don’t need to be convinced that Quercetin is beneficial. Two months later I’m skin symptom free after two years of dealing with skin issues, some that made my skin pigment change to a lighter hue. Is it a coincidence? It could be. I know I take so many supplements that it’s hard to say what’s working and what’s not sometimes. But I honestly don’t think it’s a coincidence. I think Quercetin does work wonders but I do advise one thing: take it after you eat because it can upset your stomach.

3 Responses

  1. Hi Tom!

    Well, you have psoriasis and RA, so I’m thinking you need to take more than just quercetin for your skin. Yes, Quercetin plus bromelain is suppose to absorb better, and I have taken that, but these days I take the quercetin 650mg on its own because I take Serracor-NK which has bromelain in it. I buy quercetin from Swanson’s because it’s cheap. I take two quercetin in the morning and two at night. Because you have psoriasis, you might want to consider consuming lactoferrin as well. (you can buy the powders or pills in lots of places but I recommend trying ImmunPlex from prohealth because it tastes great and you can skip having to take it in pill form.) Don’t use soy milk or regular because they are inflammatory. Try to find sugarfree almond milk instead. You should also consider taking polypodium leucotomos for times that you’re out in the sun. I prefer the one from raintree.
    Have you considered taking Low Dose Naltrexone? Please understand that I take a lot of supplements, and of great variety to control my rheumatoid arthritis. The two most effective things that I take are Low Dose Naltrexone and Serracor-NK. Quercetin might be high on the list in terms of being effective. I also appreciate Celadrin, especially the cream for my hands, but there are others as well that really help with my RA.
    I hope that answers some of your questions!
    thanks and hugs,
    Sarah

  2. Sarah,

    Thanks for the informative quercetin post. How much did you take per day and did you take anything with it like bromelain? I am curious because I, too, have RA with accompanying psoriasis. I have tried a lot of supps and this is next on the list. I am just wondering which one to purchase. So glad you have gotten things cleared up!

  3. […] Quercetin for Skin Issues […]

Leave a Reply

