Can you trust your doctor?

I mean really, can you? Believe me, I’ve had some great doctors before. I’ve had doctors that I trusted my life with, literally. But when it comes to medicine and your checkbook, can you really trust your doctor? Do you trust them to check that your medications don’t interfere with one another? Do you trust that they will truly listen?

I feel that there are many out there whom you can really trust and that most doctors really do care. But they are people just like us, so it’s impossible for them to know everything. I  feel that it’s always important to do your homework. And what I mean by this is that you look up your medications, research them and decide what’s best.

Prednisone, for instance is one of those drugs that most people who take it learn to both love and hate. It’s completely addictive and loaded with side effects, everywhere from bloating from short term use, to diabetes from long term use. This drug is prescribed like candy. It was the first drug that I was put on. And in the midst of being in terrible pain and not thinking straight, I was shocked that this drug turned me from an invalid to a somewhat capable person. It works wonders.  The only problem was, if I stopped taking it, then what? If I continued taking it, then what? I was so addicted to this drug, not in terms of feeling like an addict, but in terms of if I were to stop it, my RA would come back ten fold and I could end up having diseases caused specifically from stopping Prednisone.  It took an entire year before I was able to fully wean off of it.  Prednisone is not only addictive but also causes bone loss, especially in long term use.  So before you decide to pop that next pill, take a look at it’s side effects and be sure to weigh out the pros and cons.

4 Responses

  1. Ryan,
    Great, thank you so much! I will definitely look into Vibration Therapy. I’ll be sure to check out your blog as well!
    Thanks again,
    –Sarah

  2. Hello, Great post! On my blog i have information about gaining bone density using Vibration Therapy! It is not a new technology, in fact the Russian’s used it in the 70’s so that they could stay in space for months longer than they origionally could.

    Peace and good health!
    Ryan

  3. Dear arthritis survivor,

    I should have been much more specific. I didn’t mean to scare you! You’re right, jra is enough! Your doctor is probably monitoring your decrease in prednisone. If it’s taken in a short period of time at a large dose, you can come off quickly without any issues at all. If it’s taken for a longer period of time however, prednisone must be tapered and bone loss is fairly non-existent except when it’s taken for years. To be safe, you should be consuming plenty of calcium and vitamin D. I am attaching a link. I wish you the best of luck and I’m sure you will be fine!

    Sincerely,
    Sarah Keturah

  4. oh! your post scared me. i’m coming off prednisone right now and i don’t want to get any new disease! jra is enough for me!

    but, i do agree about the doctor situation. I don’t go to my rheumatologist very often anymore.

    is there any place i can find more info about prednisone? i can’t seem to find a good online source

Leave a Reply

