What traditional medications have I tried?

Just to get the ball rolling, I figured I would mention the medications I have tried so far.

I was on prednisone for a year and methotrexate even longer. These drugs helped me to function again. I admit though, I never let my doctor prescribe more than 10mg of prednisone. I didn’t have insurance when RA first began and the doctor at that time gave me an endless supply. So every day I took 10mg. When I finally saw a rheumatologist four months later, he wanted me OFF the prednisone. He was worried about my health, said it lead to diabetes. At the time I was more worried about functioning, and less worried about long term health. So my doctor and I agreed that I would start methotrexate and wean off. Needless to say, it took an entire year to wean off just 10mg because every time I lessened it, even just 1mg, my fingers would swell up like sausages again, and I’d have trouble walking. Even my nose developed a lump! The methotrexate did in fact make me more functional, but my body was continually deteriorating, developing nodules, and my fingers were ever so slowly turning outward.

Not to go into details, but I had a surgery which took me off of methotrexate and when I went back on mtx, it stopped working as well as it had, which wasn’t that great to begin with. I didn’t want to raise the dose because I had somewhat bad side effects from it. I guess the side effects weren’t worse than the norm, but maybe they were. I always felt like I “flared” the day after mtx, meaning I’d be more swollen, and my hair was always falling out more than I was comfortable with. This was a daily reminder that I was sick. So the whole thing made me dread my weekends (mtx day) and I always felt very depressed.

Leave a Reply

